Applies to: Canada

Getting Approved for a Merchant Account: What Processors Ask For

Every processor checks who you are and what your business does before it lets you take cards. Square asks for your legal name, date of birth and a Canadian address, plus business details. Stripe and Helcim can ask for ID, business documents and financial statements. After approval, each provider's terms let it hold back money in a reserve, and first payouts can take longer than later ones.

By The RateCheckrr team · Reviewed by Zee, Founder

Last reviewed

The short answer

Before a business can take cards, the processor checks two things: who you are and what your business does. This check is called underwriting: the processor’s review of the risk of taking on a business.

What each provider asks for differs. This page sets out what Square, Stripe, Helcim and TD Merchant Solutions publish for Canada, side by side.

Why processors check

The sources give two reasons.

The law. Square says: “Federal law and banking industry regulations require that all financial institutions verify and record information that identifies each person who opens an account.” TD’s terms say Canada’s Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act may require TD to request information “to address reporting, record-keeping, client identification, sanctions screening and ongoing monitoring requirements”.

Risk. A processor can be left paying for refunds and chargebacks the business cannot cover. A chargeback is a sale reversed after the customer disputes it with their bank. Helcim’s guide says payment processors may ask for more information “to ensure that the business and its owners can financially support any chargebacks or refunds that might occur.”

What each provider asks for

Square

Square’s help pages list what it needs to activate an account in Canada:

  • For the owner: “Full legal name”, “Date of birth”, and a Canadian address (“PO Boxes are not permitted”).
  • In some cases: a “Physical government-issued photo identification document” and a “Photo of your face (selfie)”.
  • For a registered business: the legal business name, a trade name, a business registration number, an estimated annual revenue and the registered address. A website is optional.
  • Beneficial owners: Square asks for the name and address of anyone who directly or indirectly owns or controls 25% or more of a corporation, plus the names of directors or partners.

Square says it cross-checks a registered business with “provincial and/or federal business registries”. If it cannot verify the business, “we can’t approve your account to take payments.” It adds that a recently registered business “may take a few weeks” to appear in registry records.

Stripe

Stripe’s support page says it collects and verifies information about:

  • “The individual creating the Stripe account”,
  • “The business associated with the account”, and
  • “Any individuals who ultimately own or control that business”.

It may ask the person to “Upload a government-issued photo ID” and to “Provide a document showing your home address”. For a business, it “can typically accept a copy of your partnership agreement, articles of association, or certificate of incorporation”.

Stripe also reviews a business’s website, social media profile or app, if it uses one to sell. Stripe says it must include the business name and a description of what the business sells, and that an “account may not be able to be activated until your website contains the necessary information about your business.”

Stripe’s Canadian services agreement (last modified September 28, 2026) describes “User Financial Information” it may request, including “financial statements” and “bank statements”. It lists not providing requested information as one reason Stripe “may immediately suspend” an account.

Helcim

Helcim’s guide says its online application “usually takes about 5 to 10 minutes”, and that “new applications often receive approval in less than 24 hours.” It lists four things processors look at:

  1. The industry. Some industries have more fraud and chargebacks. Helcim names online gaming, travel services and insurance as examples.
  2. Average sale size. Very large single sales expose the processor to more risk.
  3. Time between payment and delivery. Helcim gives a construction project that takes months as an example.
  4. Financial health of the business and its owner.

Helcim’s terms (Canada) say Helcim may, at any time, require more documents to verify “your identity, the identity of your business, and the identities of your business’s principles and beneficial owners”, or to assess risk. The merchant authorizes Helcim to get information from “credit reporting agencies and information bureaus”. Helcim may also request “copies of financial statements” or “other security” from the owner or the company. Not providing them “may result in suspension or termination”.

TD Merchant Solutions

TD’s terms (version 0726) say the agreement “will take effect on the date that we approve your Application”. The application includes “any information provided by you with your application for Merchant Services, whether verbally or in writing”. During any review, the merchant “will provide us any financial information about you and any Guarantor that we request”.

TD’s fee list includes an application fee of $49 to $99, charged once.

Side by side

SquareStripeHelcimTD
ID of the ownerLegal name, date of birth, Canadian address; sometimes photo ID and selfieGovernment photo ID and proof of home address, if askedMay require documents to verify identityInformation in the application
Owners and controllersOwners of 25% or more; directors or partnersAnyone who ultimately owns or controls the businessPrincipals and beneficial ownersGuarantors, where there are any
Business checksRegistry check of registered businessesBusiness documents; website reviewIndustry, sale size, delivery time, financesFinancial information on request
Credit or financial checksNot stated on the pages we readMay request financial and bank statementsCredit reporting agencies; financial statements; other securityFinancial information on request
Published approval timeNot stated; a new registration “may take a few weeks” to reach registry recordsNot statedOften under 24 hours, per HelcimNot stated

After approval: holds, reserves and first payouts

Approval is not the last check. Each provider’s terms let it hold back money later.

Reserves. A reserve is money a processor holds back from a business’s sales to cover refunds and chargebacks.

  • Square says it considers factors such as payment before delivery, industries “more prone to chargebacks”, a high dispute rate, uneven sales, and having no processing history with Square. It says it notifies the merchant by email and in the Square Dashboard “before the reserve goes into effect”, and reviews reserves “after a minimum of six months”.
  • Helcim’s terms say it “may require a Reserve for any reason related to your use of the Services”, and may hold reserves on payments taken for goods or services delivered later.
  • TD’s terms say TD may require “that you fund a reserve or provide other security” at any time.
  • Stripe’s agreement defines a reserve as “collateral funds which Stripe holds and controls to satisfy any liabilities or potential liabilities”.

Holds. TD’s terms say it may, “at any time and without notice to you”, withhold settlement or freeze funds, “including while we or a Payment Card Network complete an investigation”. Helcim’s terms say it may withhold funds “by temporarily suspending or delaying payouts”.

First payouts. Stripe’s payouts documentation says it typically schedules the first payout “within 7–14 days, depending on your industry, country of operation, and risk level”. It lists Canada’s timing as 7 calendar days for the first payout and 3 business days after that.

More detail on timing and reserves: When You Get Paid: Deposits, Holds and Reserves.

After closing an account

Money can stay held after an account ends. TD’s terms describe a holdback kept for 180 days after termination, with the unused part credited after that. Helcim’s terms say it may keep a reserve “for a minimum of six (6) months from the termination date”. See How to Switch Processors in Canada and Early Termination Fees.

Where to go from here

A processor (the company that handles card payments) and a merchant account (the account that holds card sales) are not always the same thing; see Payment Processor vs Merchant Account. For each provider’s prices, see the pages on Square, Stripe, Helcim and TD Merchant Solutions, or How Much Does It Cost to Accept Credit Cards in Canada? Want a partner to review your statement? We will put you in touch. Start the free statement review.

Common questions

What do I need to open a merchant account in Canada?

It depends on the provider and the business. Square lists a full legal name, date of birth and a Canadian address for the owner, plus business details such as the legal name and registration number for a registered business. Stripe and Helcim say they may ask for ID and business documents. TD's terms refer to the information given in the application.

Do processors run a credit check?

Helcim's terms say a merchant authorizes it to obtain information from third parties "such as credit reporting agencies and information bureaus". Stripe's Canadian agreement says it may request financial statements and bank statements. Helcim's guide says underwriting looks at financial stability, credit history and industry risk.

How long does approval take?

Helcim's guide says the process can take "anywhere from a day to a few weeks", and that new Helcim applications often receive approval in less than 24 hours. Square says a recently registered business may take a few weeks to show up in registry records. Stripe and TD do not publish a time on the pages we read.

Why is my first payout slower?

Stripe's payouts documentation says it typically schedules the first payout "within 7–14 days, depending on your industry, country of operation, and risk level". It lists 3 business days for later payouts in Canada.

Can a processor ask for more information after I am approved?

Yes, under each provider's terms. Square says it may ask for more information or re-verification "at any time". Helcim's terms say it may require more documents at any time during the agreement. TD's terms say merchants will provide any financial information TD requests during a review.

Sources

  1. Square Support Centre (Canada): Set up your Square account (checked )
  2. Square Support Centre (Canada): Onboard your registered business with Square (checked )
  3. Square Support Centre (Canada): Onboard your sole proprietorship to Square (checked )
  4. Square Support Centre (Canada): Reserve FAQ (checked )
  5. Stripe Support: What do I need to do to verify my Stripe account? (checked )
  6. Stripe Support: Business website for account activation FAQ (checked )
  7. Stripe Services Agreement (Canada), General Terms, last modified September 28, 2026 (checked )
  8. Stripe Docs: Payouts (checked )
  9. Helcim: Terms of Service (Canada) (checked )
  10. Helcim: Merchant account: how to qualify for it? (checked )
  11. TD Merchant Solutions: Terms and Conditions, version 0726, in effect from July 10, 2026 (PDF) (checked )
  12. TD Merchant Solutions: Fee Descriptions (PDF) (checked )

We're a referral service, not a payment processor. We may be paid when you use our free review. Details.